Canberra's Jordan Harper named in NEAFL team of year

Canberra midfielder Jordan Harper has declared success is on the way for the Demons after he was named in the NEAFL team of the year for the third time.

The Demons co-captain was labelled the NEAFL's player to watch this year after he declined interstate offers to re-sign with Canberra for two years.

It was the 24-year-old's second season for the Demons having previously played in the NEAFL for Belconnen and Ainslie, with team of the year honours also coming in 2014 and 2016.

Harper finished 10th in the NEAFL's most valuable player voting to cap off a successful rebuilding year for the Demons.

Canberra finished one win out of the finals to cap off Kade Klemke's first year in charge, in stark contrast to a lacklustre 2016 that saw them win just three games.

Harper bounced back to erase the disappointment of going undrafted last year and says things are only going to get better for the Demons.

"Canberra's probably where the NEAFL is at the moment, they're probably heading in the same direction," Harper said.

"They're both going upwards and the success of the Canberra Demons is coming I feel. Chasing that team success is what it's all about and it'll be even sweeter when we do win it with the Canberra Demons.

"It'll be a huge thing for me and some of the other Canberra boys that have been there the whole time.

"The team was much better this year and Kade's put some good things in place. The whole direction of the club has pretty much changed from the previous year and we're moving in an upwards direction from here."

2017 NEAFL Team of the Year

B: Ryan Hebron (Sydney University) Adrian Williams (Redland) Darcy Baron-Hay (Sydney University)
HB: Jeremy Laidler (Sydney) Gavin Grose (Aspley) Ryan Davis (Gold Coast)
W: Jordan Harper (Canberra) Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder) Brandon Jack (Sydney)
HF: Jordan Dawson (Sydney) Jono Freeman (Brisbane) Clay Cameron (Redland)
FP: Darcy Macpherson (Gold Coast) Darren Ewing (NT Thunder) Jackson Paine (Redland)
Foll: Dawson Simpson (GIANTS) Jordan Keras (Southport) Mitch Hallahan (Gold Coast)
Inter: Oscar McInerney (Brisbane) Zac O'Brien (Brisbane) Matt Payne (Aspley) Sam Murray (Sydney) Adam Sambono (NT Thunder)

Coach: Tom Morrison (Sydney University)
Captain: Gavin Grose (Aspley)

This story Canberra's Jordan Harper named in NEAFL team of year first appeared on Brisbane Times.