Zone 2 pony riders dominates state championships

PONY riders from all over the state flocked to Beaudesert to compete in this year’s Pony Club Queensland State Dressage, Combined Training and Horse Trials Championships.

The state-wide competition brought riders from as far as Townsville to Beaudesert Showgrounds and Tamborine Pony Club Grounds from July 1 to July 5.

Beaudesert Pony Club president Fiona Wyatt said it was a first for many riders, including Colleen Krahen and Jessica O’Leary, who competed.

“It was a huge experience for all with riders placing in the top 10 against other competitors from all over Queensland,” she said.

Ms Wyatt said there were five Beaudesert Pony Club riders who represented the local club and Zone 2.

Event organising secretary Melinda Hughes said there many local pony clubs that qualified to go into the competition with Zone 2 members dominating the championships.

“Zone 2 won events at each of three disciplines, being dressage, combined training and horse trials, which means the zone is very strong at present,” she said.

Ms Hughes said South-east Queensland Zone 2 riders from Tamborine, Greenbank and Tallebudgera took away the winning zone title for the highest overall results.

The top four riders in the district, Anika Green, Jazmine McMullan, Dimity Hosking and Dannan Isherwood received a sash, trophy and their names will go on the perpetual trophy.

Ms Hughes said it was an honour to have held the state-wide championship at Beaudesert and Tamborine.

“It was a big undertaking (to organise the event) but I’m happy to say it was a success,” she said.

“The feedback we received was exceedingly positive.”



  • Zara Wyatt, Beaudesert Pony Club, 6th overall in 10 years and under dressage
  • Claudia Wyatt, Beaudesert Pony Club, 7th overall in 10 years and under dressage
  • Sophie Peach, Jimboomba Pony Club, 4th overall in 11 to under 13 years dressage
  • Ruby Goldsmith, Beaudesert Pony Club, 5th overall in novice dressage

Combined Training:

  • Courtney Newport, Tamborine Pony Club, 2nd overall in A1 combined training
  • Morgan Brown, Tamborine Pony Club, 5th overall in A3 combined training
  • Lily Murray, Tamborine Pony Club, 6th overall in A1 combined training.

Horse Trials: 

  • Courtney Newport, Tamborine Pony Club, 5th overall in 13 to under 16 years pre-introductory
  • Dannan Isherwood, Tamborine Pony Club, 1st overall in 12 years and under pre-introductory

Winning Zone Team –  South-east Queensland Zone 2 riders:

  • Anika Green, Greenbank Pony Club
  • Jazmine McMullan, Greenbank Pony Club
  • Dimity Hosking, Tallebudgera Pony Club
  • Dannan Isherwood, Tamborine Pony Club